

# BOARD OF COAL MINING EXAMINERS CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

http://www.energy.virginia.gov/dm/default.htm

## SURFACE BLASTER (COAL)

### PHOTO ID REQUIRED

Article 3 of the <u>Coal Mine Safety Laws of Virginia</u> establishes requirements for certification of coal mine workers. The certification requirements are included in §45.2-515 through §45.2-534. in which the Board of Coal Mining Examiners is established for the purpose of administering the certification program. The Board has promulgated certification regulations 4 VAC 25-20, which set the minimum standards and procedures required for Virginia coal miner examinations and certifications.

#### **CERTIFICATION CLASSIFICATION:** \*Surface Blaster (Coal)

This certification authorizes the holder to perform blasting operations and to record blasting examination information concerning blasting operations at surface mines.

**NOTE:** This certification shall not be used in lieu of any other certification.

#### **APPLICATION/EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:**

- Prior to making application, affidavit and training modules must be completed.
   Training modules and affidavit can be accessed on the DMME Website.
- Most recent Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms clearance.
- Application (BCME-1) and \$40.00 fee 5 working days prior to examination
  - Note: Classes are limited to 20 people and tend to fill quickly. Application fees are due no later than 5 working days prior to the examination, but this will not guarantee that an opening will be available.
- One year blasting experience properly notarized (Form DM-BCME-2) on a surface coal mine under the direction of a certified surface blaster or related work experience approved by the Chief of the Division of Mines. NOTE: Experience must be submitted within 5 years of passing the examination. After 5 years records are destroyed. Must reapply if future certification is desired.
- Current first aid training (MSHA 5000-23 Annual Retraining or New Miner Inexperienced Training acceptable)
- Hold a General Miner Certification

**EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS:** A score of 85% on each element of the examination

ELEMENTS OF EXAM NU	JMBER OF Q	<b>UESTIONS</b>
<ul> <li>Mined Land Reclamation Rules &amp; Regs. (DMLR)</li> </ul>	(MR)	25
<ul> <li>Blasting Practices (BP)</li> </ul>		20
<ul><li>Electric Blasting (EB)</li></ul>		20
<ul><li>Explosive Products (EP)</li></ul>		20
<ul> <li>Explosive Safety Procedures (ES)</li> </ul>		40
<ul><li>Rules &amp; Regulations (DM) (RR)</li></ul>		20
<ul> <li>Surface Blasting Record Practical (BR)</li> </ul>		

#### RECOMMENDED REFERENCE/STUDY MATERIALS:

- Title 30 CFR (Included in study guide) ■
- Coal Mine Laws of Virginia (\$25.00)
- BCME Requirements (No Charge)
- Blaster Training Module CD (\$1.00)
  - o also available on Web
- Surface Blasters Study Guide (\$14.00)
- DMLR Rules & Regulations (Included in study guide)
- First Aid for Miners Study Guide (\$15.00)

The above mentioned study materials are available at the Virginia Energy's Big Stone Gap Office, (276) 523-8100.

\*5 year DMLR recertification required